It’s Coffee Time

Greetings fellow renovators. I hope everyone’s summer was fun and fruitful – whether you were tackling a renovation project or your summer reading list. For me it’s been inside time this year – with most of my focus on the woman cave shenanigans.

Over the weekend I finally got around to fixing the hole to the left of the staircase. My wife loves her coffee – me? I’m 62 and I have never had a cup of coffee – or a beer for that matter. I’m weird like that. She wanted a place to have a hot pot of coffee or tea for her visitors – so that’s why the hole is there.

9 finished stair

So after I paneled the hole with some 1/2″ plywood it’s time to figure out what to do.

1-nook-startSo I hopped over to the home center and picked up this subway mosaic tile from Lowe’s. I added a electrical outlet on a GFCI circuit for the coffee pot. Since this is a house built in 1935 I thought this smaller version ofΒ  subway tile would work.

2-marble-oldNext out to the garage to get a piece of antique marble top that my neighbor gave me – it was from an old dresser that had a top that split in two.

3-concrete-board-upAfter a little fiddling with the tile saw and a quick polish it was attached to the bottom with some silicone. 1/2″ Hardie cement board was added to the back, top and sides of the opening with a little tile adhesive and screwed temporarily until the mastic set.

4-tile-startAfter a little math we start to tile. I used tile mastic instead of thinset here. Mastic is an organic adhesive that can’t take continuous water exposure. Since this area will only get a minimal amount of moisture it will work fine. Mastic works well with mosaics because it holds tile initially much better than thinset.

5-tile-inSo in a couple of hours I’ve got the tiles set.

6-groutingThe next day time for grout. I was kind of concerned because my wife picked a light grout and this looked way darker than the color sample showed.

7-grout-finishedAs it dries it lightens up – so that’s a good thing. What’s not a good thing is I missed a little grout by the outlet plate. A little grout mixed up and applied will fix this.

8-pvc-trimThen a little PVC trim is cut to cover the raw edges of the opening. This was milled from 5/4 (1″) stock to wrap around the front to cover the tile edge.

9-trim-inAfter the cover trim is attached I made a back band trim to match all the other door openings.

10-trim-detailHere you see the trim detail that wraps around the front to cover the raw tile edge.

11-finishedNow all that is needed is the coffee or tea. If it makes my wife happy – then I’m happy.

Onward we march – tag along, something pretty might show up.

 

 

18 thoughts on “It’s Coffee Time

    • Hi Danielle! Wow – your yard and that brick path are looking so fine! I have a yard now – flat and full of weeds. One day – a guy can dream can’t he?

  1. Looks awesome! …and not so weird on the beverage thing, 35 this December and I have never touched coffee or beer. And only a few sips of hard liquor makes my throat burn up.

  2. You are so right, Gill! It’s just a waste of money if you don’t have the hidden stuff sorted out. Things are looking great over there.

Leave a Reply

