Mid July Roundup – Doors and Floors

It seems as I march towards making this place into a habitable dwelling – the photos just don’t seem that interesting. I know the good stuff is right around the corner, but it’s hard to grab a camera and take a picture of so many ho-hum projects. So here’s what happening now at the Misadventures project.

1 sunroom lightI left off with these sunroom lights installed because I needed the space in the garage. I was worried the scale might be too large, but they fit between the beams fine. You will see my problem in the background. The wall sconces were placed to correspond to the windows. Unfortunately, this left an awkward gap between the lights. You can see I’m fiddling with a cardboard design to balance out the space. We’ll see how this turns out.

2 window casingThis is a view from the kitchen into the sunroom. I’m casing the last window and one of the final door openings.

3 plywood underlaymentLooking back into the kitchen area you can see I’m adding a 1/2″ BC plywood underlayment, glued and screwed to the 3/4″ T&G pine floor. There is a 14′ island that runs down the middle of this space.

4 plaster wall damageI kept two rooms with original plaster lathe walls and ceilings. This is what was behind the baseboard. We’ll repair this before we replace the trim.

5 bondo fillerAll the doors get new hinges, mortise locks, plates and knobs. So of course the new door strikes don’t fit the originals. First I use auto bondo to fill in the areas that would show with the new striker plate. The pencil marks show the new location.

6 door mortise jigAs usual, I made a jig that will make a fast and accurate cut to recess the plate. The jig has a piece that fits against the door stop. It is then screwed to the jamb so it won’t move.

7 router and jigThe router uses the jig frame to make an accurate cut for the recess.

8 door strike fittingThe test fit shows I didn’t get enough filler to cover the old hole. We’ll add a little more later.

9 marking mortiseThe jamb is marked for the latch hole that needs to be mortised.

10 drilling mortiseMake a couple holes with a forstner bit. This type of drill bit makes a flat bottomed hole. Then just use a wood chisel to square up the hole.

11 screw hole fixI usually fill the old screw holes anytime I replace a plate or hinge. Take a small diameter forstner bit and dill into the screw hole. Take a matching diameter wood dowel and glue it in place.

12 cutting dowelAfter the glue is dry, saw off flush. This not only gives you a clean start, but reinforces the wood around the original hole.

13 jamb sawTo get the 1/2″ plywood under the trim, I rented a jamb saw to make the cuts. 20.00 for 4 hours rental. Had all the doors cut and the tool back to Home Depot in an hour. This project would have taken all day with a regular saw.

14 close callBut I dodged another bullet – while I was handling the still spinning saw I nearly snagged my leg. It ripped my jeans but didn’t get any skin. Lucky this time.

Hope everyone is having a great and productive summer.  Till next time.

 

22 thoughts on “Mid July Roundup – Doors and Floors

  1. Gheez, glad you didn’t cut yourself. Good call on the bondo on the door frames. I’ve wondered if that’s the way to go when fixing that, and there you have it – now my question is answered. Everything is looking fantastic. As soon as you’re done you’re going to be looking for another house to remodel.

    • Hey Chris! Yep, got lucky for being careless. Auto bondo works really well – indoors or out. Just as long as it’s not stressed too much. I’ve got plans for a potting shed after this – but I keep telling myself to finish this one first.

    • Hi Laura! Yes! Lucky me and my blue armor. The sconces were always going to be a problem. When I wired them in I couldn’t see another way of placing them. I’ll figure out some sort of decorative element to place in between. to visually even out the space. Usually if I come up with a better idea I just rip out what I just finished and do it again. The closet upstairs is a good example. Happy renovating!

      • I might do a box of sorts (for lack of the word I’m thinking) across all the windows enclosing the lights to give a glow on the ceiling without seeing the source of the light.

      • Yes, that’s a good idea. I should have though of something like that when I was designing the ceiling.

      • I think the “box” could look like a shallow beam that the rafters rest on with rope lighting inside.
        Or maybe those metal/galvanized kind of industrial down lights that are popular now?

      • Yes – I’ve used the that tray lighting in one of my corporate projects. With LED lights it’s perfect. Back then we had to use xenon light strips which were super hot.

  2. We are just discovering the miracle of auto Bondo for shoring up weathered and split window frames. Until recently, I didn’t know it could bond wood, too. Yay!
    The sunroom is looking great. What else could you align the sconces with if not the windows? Love the chandeliers!

    • Hi D’Arcy – yes, the bondo works great because it sets in just a short time. The problem in the sunroom is the support beams didn’t line up with the window placement – so I placed the sconces in relation to the windows. That gives me a pretty big gap between sconces. I’ll come up with some decorative doo-dad to make it look a little more balanced. Here’s wishing you a great summer and that all your plaster walls will be smooth and your window frames crack free.

    • Hi Susan – Thanks! It’s a long slow process. You can contact me anytime you have a renovation question – and I’ll contact you when I need an Azalea bush. Happy Summer!

  3. Thanks for bringing awareness to safety with power tools, every now and then we all need a reminder. Just glad it was just the jeans, but any higher my friend and …. ouch!
    I still just marvel in amazement at your work. The sunroom, holy crap, beautiful. As much as I love this site, I will never, ever, show my wife. You would ruin me my friend. Keep the posts coming! Best regards and safe woodworking!

    • Thanks for the kind words, Alex. I just spend way too much time on these projects – but I suppose that’s what a hobby is after all. I usually leave a little blood at the work site weekly – but prefer a little cut or splinter over sawing my leg off. Have a great summer.

Leave a Reply

