Using Motorcycle Parts in the Bathroom

OK, the internet is generally a good thing – search is a good thing – sometimes.

I’ll explain later

1 wall painted

We left off here with the wall painted and the sconce electric now finished by adding a mud ring to bring the wall boxes out to the wall surface.

2 toilet flange

Now it’s toilet time. I plumbed the floor closet flange with a stainless steel doodad – use this type if you can instead of the all PVC or stamped steel versions.

4 toto toilet

Here’s the toilet – it’s a Toto Soirée one piece toilet.I chose this because my wife wanted a one piece unit – and because I made the paneled wall go to the back of the toilet, it reduced the drain center to 11″. A standard toilet needs 12″ from the center of the drain flange to the finished wall – I only had 11″. Oops, another design faux pas.

3 toto toilet rough

 Toto to the rescue. This toilet uses a doodad that lets you adjust the distance the toilet sits next to the wall. The one that comes with the toilet is for a standard 12″ – but you can buy (for another 65.00) one that makes a 10″ or 14″ rough. So here I’m installing the 10″ rough. I’ve also installed the supply valve and stainless hose.

5 Bristro wall sconce

Then we get up off the floor to install the sconces. These are Restoration Hardware Bistro Sconces. I like these because the arms are adjustable.

6 sconces and toilet installed

Here the sconces, marble window sill, toilet and water supplies for the tub are in.

7 removable tile

I had a tile panel made that is removable for access to the plumbing without having to demo the tile to get access. The water supplies screw into the plumbing below the floor. The wall baseboard is also removable to get the tile panel out. Now we need to plumb the bathtub drain.

10 drain instal

The PVC pipe goes through the floor into the drain trap. The threaded compression fitting had to be close to the floor so the trim ring would sit flat on the floor.

9 marble sill

The window sill is marble and had to be installed before the water supplies. I made a wood template to take to the stone guys and then I installed the sill with silicone. The pipes holding the faucet were pretty stable, but I wanted to make it more secure with some sort of bracket to fasten it to the wall.

That’s where the internet and motorcycle parts come in.

I spent several hours searching for something that might work. Searches for “Pipe Hangers, pipe brackets, tube and/or rod holders and every conceivable search word combination came up with nothing. Nothing in plumbing worked, nothing in electrical, drapery, or closets worked either. So next was marine, auto and then finally motorcycle.

And these popped up.

11 handle bar risers

The criteria was as follows: Chrome and shiny? Check / Split so that they  can be installed without disassembling the water supplies? Check / Fit a 1″ OD pipe? Check / Can be attached to the wall? Check. What the heck are they? Handlebar risers for a Harley Davidson. Sure, that will work.

12 recessed bolts

So we make a poplar bracket and recess the back for the bolts.

13 painted bracket

We paint and finish the bracket to match the wall. Then install the risers.

14 bracket instal

We attached the bracket to the wall. The tub will hide most of this stuff, but I still wanted them to look pretty.

15 bracket closeup

A little hole filling and touch up and these pipes are staying put. So we’re starting to get to the bling – hang in there.

25 thoughts on “Using Motorcycle Parts in the Bathroom

    • Thanks Nil – Now I can feel like a Harley rider when I take a bath. I need you to come take some of your amazing photographs of this place when I’m done.

      • As long as you don’t start thinking you’ll go faster by twisting the tap! 😀
        I’d love to… but I think you’re more or less on the other side of the earth… :-/ (?)

    • Thanks so much! Your living in a hundred year old house – you know you have to improvise. Mine’s only 81, so your house could be my momma! Keep up the great work!

    • Yea, My little Austin buddy! Doodad is a useful word. It can be a good thing, a bad thing, or something. I swear I spend more time looking for things that don’t exist than I do building stuff…but it’s a hobby I keep telling myself.

    • Hi Koko! Thanks so much! you’re quite the handywoman yourself. Hopefully my future posts will be more of the pretty stuff and less concrete and 2X4’s. But then I still have a long way to go.

    • Hi Nicole! If only I had the machine you have created up north in Indianapolis! You get’er done and move on.I’m still muddling along on one stink’n house for 6 years. Yep thos Toto’s work pretty well. I have the Skirted Carlisle in the 1st floor bath and it never has been a problem. You go girl!

  1. How in the world did you find the Harley doodads?? This bathroom is coming along great. I love the basket weave tile and the marble sill. The view from the toilet looks like it’s nice, too. 🙂

    • Hey D’Arcy. You know what it’s like to live in an old home. After hours of Google image searches I find these things. I’m getting ready to post the bathtub I just installed yesterday morning. My goal is to get this place done this year.

  2. Loved this post, Curt! You’re nothing if not inventive. I had never heard the word ‘doodad’ before either so that’s something new for me. And your bathroom is going to be beautiful.

    • Thanks so much, Jacqui! I enjoy your posts from South Africa – so beautifully written. I hope your new house continues to be a smooth process. I’m waiting for some warm weather so we can at least get grass in the year – we’ll work on the garden when this place is finished inside.

Leave a Reply

