January Recap – Three Stories

The blog post has been pretty quiet around the Misadventures project – not because of lack of activity, but because it’s still not to the pretty stages yet. I have projects in the basement, 1st floor and second floor too – hence the blog title.

First the basement stuff.

1 steam shower framingThe steam shower framing is done. The sloped ceiling is framed and all the plumbing is in. All this has to be finished before the walls get spray foam.

2 structured wiringOf course to make it more complicated and expensive I’ve run Cat5e and coax everywhere. It home-runs back to this structured wire cabinet in the basement.

3 wire laddersI use ladders and bar clamps to hold the wire spools while I pull the wires from one floor to the next. Some are in conduits and some are not. Extra lines are run for stuff I didn’t think about.

4 kitchen cabinet layoutIn the kitchen I’m finally getting around to mocking up some layouts. I need to know where to run lighting and speaker controls as well as gas lines and all the other things that go into the kitchen. It’s a modified galley that allows traffic to avoid the cooking area. More on this in later posts.

5 master bathroom wall layoutUpstairs I’m laying out the bathroom window wall in my traditional freestyle design technique – lay some sticks against the wall. Good enough.

6 window jamb detail1st the window jambs are made and the corners are routed to make a stronger straighter corner.

7 window casing layoutThe side casings are added and the top is measured and cut.

8 window casing pocket screwsThe ‘U’ shaped casing is glued and  pocket screwed together on the back to make a nice tight joint. The bottom will have a marble sill.

9 wall detail startA preliminary fitting is made with 3/4″ pine. I didn’t use poplar here because I want some grain to show through the final finish.

10 wall detail not usedMy original idea was to continue the banding to mimic the doors. One thinner top band and one thicker lower band. But it made the room look too squatty, so I pitched this idea and the lumber I already cut. Another design faux pas.

11 wall panel cutsThe wood panels are cut for the field areas. Sometimes people use the drywall as the field, but I want a finish that shows the wood grain, so I used a 1/4″ birch ply panel.

12 wall finishedThe panel and battens in place. The white tub sits in front of this window so I wanted some contrast in this white room.

13 wall paintedI painted the wall with BM Shaker Gray with a Pearl finish. The paint color matched the grey veining in the porcelain tile border. The paint was thinned 5:1 with water and then hand sanded lightly to show some of the grain and texture. The wall was then roller painted with Verathane waterbase satin diamond clear to get a smooth finish with a little sheen.

So a little progress on the pretty side, not much, but I promise I’ll get to that in the next few months.

 

 

22 thoughts on “January Recap – Three Stories

  1. HI, Curt. The paneled wall looks really good! Grey was good choice with all the lighter colors in the room. Thanks for sharing how you put yours together. I’ve been thinking about doing wainscoting size panel look in my dining room. I can’t wait to see what happens in the kitchen:)

    • Hi Betty and Thanks! It looks like I have several rooms with wainscoting, or wood ceilings – and the closet is all board and batten design. The kitchen will come shortly – The stone tops have been in storage for 2 years and the deposit for the cabinets was in 2010. Slow progress for sure 🙂

    • Thanks so much D’Arcy – the only part I don’t like is lugging my 12″ compound saw up and down three floors to work on projects – but it keeps me in shape. You are doing a fantastic job on the plaster repair!

  2. As always your attention to detail is fabulous, e.g. the window jambs. You encourage the rest of us to get it right or forget it. Jo @ Let’s Face the Music

    • Hi Kelly! You have a great project with the den. I really like doing a wall with interest and texture. I have several rooms with wainscoting and board and batten – the kitchen window wall will get this same treatment – well, that’s the plan.

    • Hey Rosietta! I’m waiting for more blog posts from you – your house has lots of potential – now that the bat poop is gone. I’m determined to get moved in this year – we’ll see.

      • There’s a lot in the works. We were planning to go slowly on renovations then the baby came along. We are gearing up for the baby and doing some renovations each night. By we, I mean, everyone else as all the physical work is mostly not allowed in pregnancy. Hoping to get a contractor in to completely redo our back roof soon and evict some bats. Waiting on the costing I sent out. You’ll see some plans soon! Haven’t finished the draft yet. It’s exciting and daunting with a newborn set to arrive anytime.

  3. Curt, that all looks great.
    We like to see photos of the underpinnings as well as the pretty bits.
    As we have no really pretty bits to show off yet, it’s good to know there are other folk who are taking YEARS to get there also………….

    • Hi Gill – you have pretty bits (like those panels you just picked up) it’s just that they’re not attached yet. I have boxes and boxes of stuff that’s not attached too. But we will both get there one day. Think of all the room we’ll have once the stuff is off the floor.

    • So how goes Austin? Many years ago I worked building houses during the summers – really cheap ones. I was trained as a picture framer and photographer by my dad and did high end museum framing and gold leafing, I was a union carpenter for a bit – but all I did was frame concrete forms. I just love to build stuff, and can’t remember a time I didn’t have some project going, so after 40 years you get pretty good at renovating.

      • Sounds like a great history and background. Gold leafing…wow. Austin is pretty good. Food, weather and social scene is great; traffic and house prices are horrendous. Ha.

Leave a Reply

