More tedious things to look at

As the headline says – my posts are pretty unassuming – the continuous posts of digging holes, correcting foundations and replacing floor joists will never make it to the pages of Architectural Digest. But I do have a plan to one day get to post some really pretty stuff. But that’s still months away, so here is another post of things that will never make your Pinterest boards.

1 flashing-love-noteWe’ll start with a little romance to spice things up. On the final days of putting up the new siding I thought I’d leave this little note on a piece of flashing behind the Hardie siding.

2 Window-wellsI looked around and couldn’t find any decent window wells for the two awning windows I installed, so I framed up some forms. I placed long anchor bolts in the walls before the concrete went in.

3 Window-well-doneThese will work to keep water away from the windows. I’ll add pea gravel to the bottoms of the well to drain excess water.

4 Air-ConditionersI also framed up a 4′ X 9′ pad to hold the new air conditioners. The Trane units look big and they are. 3 Tons each with a 20 seer rating. They have variable speeds, but I doubt if they get past the 1st stage when cooling.

5 Air-conditioner-outletsOf course, nothing is that easy at the MisAdventures project. I had the HVAC guys run the line sets through pvc so I could make a nice weather seal at the outlets.The electrical was also run underground. Next to that is water spigots – the one on the left is city water, the one on the right is well water. The stainless steel vent is for the downstairs bathroom ventilation.

6 Back-of-houseGutters are finally on. They are 6″ K type with 3X4 downspouts. The closest one goes to the dry well I posted about here.

7 Down-spout-drainHaving the gutter guys come set the downspouts first let me get the underground drains in the right spot so that it was a straight line to the outlet.

8 Down-spout-filterBecause this downspout goes directly to a dry well, I added a strainer to catch leaves and debris that might clog the pipes. I’ve already found some leaves in there.

9 Gutter-detailI had them run this downspout along the fascia line to catch the water coming off the small clipped gable roof area. Without this gutter, morning dew would drip onto our patio and possibly my wife – which would not be a good thing.

10 Patio-guttersThe larger gutters catch the greater volume of water that comes off this section of roof. I’ll add an underground pipe for the downspout when I landscape.

11 Crawl-space-lightsIn the evening I popped in to the basement and put up recessed LED lights in the 4′ crawl space under the sunroom addition. This is a 16 X20′ area that will take no time for my wife to fill up with stuff we’ll never use. When we’re gone look out for an epic yard sale.

18 thoughts on “More tedious things to look at

    • Ha, D’Arcy – it looks like this because it’s new. Once I let my wife loose in there you’ll never see the walls again. But it is clean and dry and air-conditioned, so it might be a good place for me to stay when I’m in the dog house.

  1. Yours and mine both, Curt! Painting, painting and more painting on my blog right now. That’s it. Your crawl space is so pretty! Our crawl space is the size of our house because it’s a Queenslander with a high set breezeway open to the elements, but it’s not as pretty and clean and neat as yours.

    • Hi Jess! Thanks for stopping by. Everything here is always covered with construction dirt – but no clutter – yet. I just hope I get to start posting something other than dirt and 2X4s.

  2. We have three detached spaces under our house. One is brick and concrete, one is concrete and gravel, and the third is combo with dirt partially walkable. None are accessible from inside the house. What we need are unlimited funds, a builder who has the skills and know-how to pull off the impossible. When are you available?? !! 😀

    • Hi Kate! You are so funny – one day when I get done with this place I want to travel with my wife and do just that. Visit and have a working vacation. helping people with their renovations and write about it. Seems like a fair trade.

  3. Neat! A strainer inside the down pipe! Is this a common feature in the USA? I use lengths of curved chicken wire inside the gutters to prevent leaves from falling in (not so glamorous, I know) and strainers for tea leaves only ;-).
    I hope you will take a break for Christmas. Best wishes for 2016 too.

    • Thanks so much for the well wishes. I’m hoping to move in the house in 2016 – so no time to rest but we’ll see if I get a day off by New Years.. Typical downspouts don’t use strainers, but since this is a closed system I have to keep stuff from clogging the pipes. I mounted the clean out up where I’ll remember to empty it from time to time. I hope you have a happy 2016 and I’ll be following along on your adventures too.

  4. As an architect it’s always a pleasure to read your posts even if they’re about pouring a window well surround. It’s rare to find people that take so much care with the details. Keep up the good work.

    • Hi Reid – thanks so much. I thought I was already following your blog – but I am now. You need to post more – your blog is so interesting. I guess my OCD acts up when I’m working on my ‘hobby house’ I have some regrets with my designs sometimes – but that’s what I get for attempting this project without a pro’s vision. But it’s been fun – so far. Thanks again and Merry Christmas and Happy New Year 2016.

  5. Everything looks fantastic. I like the looks of the crawl space, sans stuff. And the cement wells for the basement windows look great too. I laughed a little at the note you put behind the siding. I do the same thing, though never thought of doing a love note. I figure when someone is demo-ing my house a hundred years from now it’ll be a little bit of proof I existed.

    • Thanks Chris – always nice to see your comments. My wife saw the post and asked “where’s the heart?” on the note. It’s funny you mentioned the note – I’m always looking at old wood I tear out to see if anything is on the back. Your house is so well built I think it’ll be around more than a century – we’ll keep our fingers crossed both of our homes will see 2116. Best wishes for the Holiday and New Year.

    • Thanks, Patty! I hope by next year I can at least plant some grass – it’s a long way from a garden, but it’s headed in the right direction. Merry Christmas and Happy 2016

    • Hey Mz. Jay! Wow, your house is really getting the works! The wells will have dirt come up to the tops when the landscaping is done. The windows are partially underground level.

      • I think I am finally close to the home stretch. I love my house but man when one is not handy like you are it can get expensive. I took a hiatus from working on it because I wanted to sell it but I decided to love it instead of listing it!! What happened to cape cod dreams? I wanted to check her progress but I can’t find her. Anyway thanks for the well info. Do you only need them when the Windows are partially below grade?

      • Don’t know where Cape Cod went – probable finished and living the easy life! Yes, window wells are used when the grade is higher than the windows to keep any possibility from flooding. I couldn’t find decent wells other than metal or plastic, so I made these up.

Leave a Reply

