Siding an old house #6 some details

The weather remains good for outside work – so I’m determined to finally get the siding  done. It’s taken six years to get this far, but by golly we’re gonna finish it before the first snowflake falls.

1 sunroom side 1I’ve got the light up over the door – a couple of problems here – One – it’s too big, so we’ll relocate this to the garage when I reside that. Two – I placed the block too high and the arm hit the fascia. Here I’ve already cut out the old block and electric box, lowered it down 6″ and made a new finish block.

2 doorbell blockThe doorbell block is temporarily in place. I used cat5e wiring almost everywhere – just in case we want to add some video door bell or other tech doodad.

3 sunroom side 2The second side of the sunroom is just like the rest – you put one piece up at a time.

4 sunroom side 2 finishedOnce each wall is finished I caulk all the seams and hand brush two coats of paint. The first coat of paint was sprayed before the pieces were installed. The hand brushing really makes a richer finish – well, in my opinion it does and of course it’s a lot more work.

5 sunroom Villa sideThe front of the sunroom is pretty easy – mainly because it’s almost all windows. The corner posts and water table trim add a lot of dimension to the siding.

6 frontThe BM White Heron color works well with the natural limestone. It’s a slight warm white that keeps it from being too bright.

7 trim blockWhen I have a long run of trim that can’t be finished with one piece, I like to add a detail to make the trim sections look more finished. Because the AZEK soffit trim is only 18′ long and I needed 22′ – I used a trim block centered between the windows to make the seam look intentional.

8 figuringFor some reason I always used a carpenter’s pencil. For these more precise trim measurements get yourself a good mechanical pencil. Live and learn.

9 sunroom side 4Finishing up the sunroom – now only 2 more walls to go.

11 gable blockAZEK is a really nice material, but it’s prone to movement from thermal expansion. It can move 1/4″ depending on the temperature. I placed thin AZEK caps over the main gable joints to hide the seam. The bottoms of the gable trim are glued and fastened, so any movement happens behind this cap.

10 flower appliqueI found some small urethane flower appliques.

12 gable block with flowerTo add a little detail to the gables. For 5.00 each they add some inexpensive charm.

 

More to come – stick around.

19 thoughts on “Siding an old house #6 some details

  1. Interesting blog 🙂
    Living in a wooden house somewhere in Belgium I regularly find myself tinkering around, repairing this, repairing that… Not as perfect as you seem to be working… too many other things I like doing as well 😉 But let’s say, I know the feeling…

    I’ll be back to learn some more 🙂

    • Hi Nil – thanks for stopping by. Your blog is beautiful. You’re right – I need other interests…but I seem to obsess over one thing at a time. Thanks for the sympathetic sentiment.

      • Thanks for the compliment 🙂
        More interests can be a problem too, though… like spending a whole rather lazy day trying to decide which one you will start on and then ending up doing something totally different… 😉

      • Now that’s a luxurious day in my book. My days are pretty much planned for me. The house says ‘Side me’ and I obey.

    • Thanks so much! Is it really true that Austin is so weird? I just started following your blog – I don’t have much time for reading, so now I can read your blog and people might think I’m literate. And you’re handy too.

      • Haha, thanks for the follow. There’s definitely some weird characters, and there’s always some new weird festival going on, but I wouldn’t say it’s as weird as they say. I’ve definitely seen some things, look at my husband and shake my head thinking, “only in Austin”.

      • When I read this the first time I thought it said ‘look at my husband’ as example of Austin weirdness.

      • Haha, no, he’s quite normal. We just both see something, look at each other, both knowing we’re both thinking, “only in Austin”. Sorry for the confusion. We’re quite boring when compared to some things you see here. Example – there’s a well known man who rides around downtown naked except for a skin colored speedo. I’ve spotted him twice (unfortunately). Everyone knows him. It’s just Austin.

    • Thanks Kristin – I guess that is why my wife calls it “The Hobby House” because it’s my hobby and try to do as much by myself. Sometimes I wish I had a helper – like measuring second story fascias with a floppy tape measure – but then that’s part of the challenge to figure these things out. Thasnks again!

    • I think he’s right. I spray painted the first primer coats and it looks like it was sprayed on 🙂 The two hand brush coats give it texture that you can see.

Leave a Reply

