Siding an old house #5 Lights and trim

Progress! It is a steady march around the house, siding one wall at a time. Things are moving, mainly because the weather has cooperated with little rain for the past month.

1 patio sidingThe patio side is complete. AZEK trim was used along the soffit and removable trim pieces against the roofing.

2 light blockThe light blocks that I previously posted about have been wired and the mounting hubs bolted to the electrical boxes with stainless steel bolts. Copper flashing keeps everything dry.

3 patio lights 1I used these barn lights with 40″+ arms made by Hi-light in California.

4 patio lights 2I centered the lights over the three windows below.

5 patio lights nightA light test to see what 20w (100w replacement)  LED bulbs would do – it’s a pretty even light over the patio. The perimeter lights on the stone and corners  are 6w LED down lights.

6 base cap partsAll the trim is AZEK. Here I’ve fabricated some corner base caps and glued the corners with PVC glue held together with painters tape.

7 base cap gluedI got a little carried away and glued all the pieces together.

8 base cap repairThen I realized that I couldn’t get the trim pieces on the columns if all sides are glued. Fortunately I figured this out before the glue set completely.

9 base cap installedThe trim pieces create a base for the AZEK corner boards that are mounted above the water table trim at each corner of the building with siding.

10 siding templateSince I have several corners that have to have the siding fit precisely, I’ve made a Masonite template to trace onto the siding. It’s cut with the angle grinder with a diamond blade.

11 siding cap detailAs usual I have all cuts to fit within a 16th of an inch. This is before caulking.

12 siding sunroom startAnd on we go on to wall #3. The great thing about using Hardie siding is that it looks like the original wood.

Hang around – we’ll go inside sometime.

10 thoughts on “Siding an old house #5 Lights and trim

  1. I love the barn lights and the picture of the patio at night. It harkens back to something in my childhood–summer nights and June bugs and my great-grandma’s lake house. Now I know what this house must have looked like when it was just built … but it’s even better!

  2. i see you used the shiplap as opposed to t&g. Was the material wood or something else? I prefer real wood although is some areas that gets expensive. I can get the dutch scallop in the 6 5/8 in pine where I live. The house was built in 1950 and has the original pine siding, stuff wears like iron if properly painted. Of course the original paint was lead based, something we can’t get any more but it will last an easy thirty years. Only a few boards need replacing due to weather damage. Meanwhile I have to take the fireplace and chimney out, the previous owners got cheap and the brick work is falling apart. One thing I learned in France is that mortar with lime lasts as long as one hundred years before one must repoint.

    • Hi and thanks for stopping by. The house had wood and wrapped with aluminum – unfortunately the original siding was in pretty poor shape. So it’s wrapped with 1/2 cdx ply and the siding is cement. I feel your pain – I dropped a three story chimney in this project. All I can say it was great exercise. All the best on your renovation.

    • Thanks! Having the lights out over the patio 4 feet make the whole area evenly illuminated – so hopefully it will be a nice place for a cookout.

Leave a Reply

