Living Room #5 Ginkgo Leaves

It looks like we’re finally getting to add something visual to the space – and make a bad view go away as well.

1 original window view

Here was the problem – the two windows on either side of the fireplace have sight views that look directly into the neighbor’s building. So when we were renovating this part I replaced the old double hung windows with new Marvin Ultimate windows that had fixed glass.

2 stained glass window back

To illustrate how long this process is taking – I had these stained glass windows made in 2010! Here is the backside showing the strips of wood that hold the window into the frame. A thin foam strip was added to keep the panels from rattling.

3 glass in frame

I removed the cabinets to make it easier to work on the windows and frames.The stained glass was made by my friend Jules Mominee at Mominee Studios. The design is a popular arts & crafts motif that I modified to fit my windows. I thought the square and rectangular elements in the windows mirrored the original cabinet doors. I had the ginkgo leaves made with bright jade and apple green glass – to make it a happy window.

4 glass in place

I built the frames that hold the glass to fit into the casing opening. A simple square stop was added and nailed in place.

6 window stop detail

This piece is removable if I need to take the glass out for repair.

7 led cabinet lights

Now to make the cabinets a little brighter, I put an led cabinet light from Pegasus Lighting 32″ long and 10W

8 cabinets lit in place.

Cabinets are in, lights are in, windows are in….we’ll just keep marching along.

19 thoughts on “Living Room #5 Ginkgo Leaves

    • Thanks so much – sorry for the delay as I have been down with the flu for a month! I love sunlight through stained glass windows

    • I certainly do D’Arcy! You end every post with a little Ginkgo leaf. I hope I can finish this little place this year.

  1. Love those windows
    Re timescales, I keep pulling out stuff we bought for the house eight years ago!
    I love that you have reproduced the original cupboards
    what a talented carpenter you are

      • Ha! I like “monumental”
        I actually though you were putting in way more effort than us!
        And thank you for your vote of confidence, or maybe “your attention to detail is amazing” really means “for christ’s sake don’t write any more yawn inducing posts about finding the right “off white!”

Leave a Reply

