Living Room #4 Random work

So it’s been some time since my rant about Rehab Addict. I’ve been staying busy – so busy that there’s no time for TV – that will keep my frustration level down to a manageable level.

1 new entryWe start by finishing the original entry casework and drywall. Here you can see the entry in relation to the future wine bar and the sunroom.

2 entry detailThe previous owner had sheathed the window wall with drywall with the original lath – so this made the door a little thicker than usual.

6 door spacer

So plywood spacers were added to get the framing level with the drywall.

5 trim stockAs with all the new trim in the house I use #1 poplar trim – it’s a little more expensive, but paints beautifully.

7 door casing detailThe top and side casing is routed – this creates a stronger joint that is also easy to keep square.

11 door casing pocket screwsAs I’ve done more trim, I’ve gone to pre-assembling the face casings with pocket screws.. This keeps the joints together and allows for very good finish joints.

12 door casing bandingThe back banding was cut from the stock and then trimmed to fit the face casing.

8 paint color 1Before the cabinets were installed I wanted to put the first coat of paint on the walls. I used BM 2125-70 Wedding Veil. Bad move. It was so white that is was blinding. So let’s just call this a primer coat.

9 paint color 2Second attempt was BM OC-18 Dove Wing. It’s a warmer, almost putty color white – but not too yellow. The trim was done in BM 2123-70 Ice Mist inΒ  satin Impervo. It’s a blue – white but works well together.

Next time we’ll get those cabinets installed and add some personality to this room…

19 thoughts on “Living Room #4 Random work

  1. Blinding white….made me laugh. It’s true, some of them are just out of control. I like your other whites, we used “Dove White” (also a Benjamin paint) on trim in a different property. I forget what we have here. Looks like you’re coming along…you just may finish before us! πŸ™‚

    • Hi Janet! Yep the paint was a real misstep – but I like to paint. Done before you? Nope – never happen – your place looks ‘fantastic’!

  2. I learned the hard way to buy sample paint and do a big ol’ sample swatch before I commit to a color.

    Then the problem is for just $3 a sample, I end up thinking “Oooh, I should try that other blue too, and a grey, and why not some greens while I’m at it?” πŸ˜‰

    • Yep, I feel your pain πŸ™‚ I thought designing stuff for a living I would know better. It didn’t help that there was a foot of snow outside the large window…but it’s all better now πŸ™‚

      • Ha, no it’s fine! I read the post and I see your points. I’m sure it’s like a doctor watching ER or something. Okay, not the greatest analogy, but you know what I mean.

  3. Love poplar — and the trim around the doors are just beautiful. Beautiful work!! Can’t wait to see the finished kitchen…love the recessed cans πŸ™‚
    So neat to see this all come along πŸ™‚
    Happy Remodeling
    danielle

    • Thanks, Danielle! I love doing trim work, so this is what makes me happy πŸ™‚ I’m big on layering lighting so I have light fixtures out the wazoo… As a matter of fact – I counted the first floor light fixtures yesterday – and there are 63! Not including under cabinet kitchen lights. You don’t have to tell me – I know I’m crazy.

  4. Wow, those door casings are beautiful! You do such great work. I like to paint, too, but it’s become a lot more difficult since getting bifocals! Getting old is hard work.

    • Thanks, D’Arcy – I know what you mean about getting older. I’ve been out sick for three days and counting. I don’t bounce back like I used to.

  5. Like that Dove White, I am obsessed with getting the right shades of “off-white” at the moment because colour makes or breaks any space.

    Your project is really coming along, well done!

  6. I know this post is a bit old, but I just found it when trying to figure out how to add casings to our windows and doors- our drywall sticks out further than the wood. I like how clear and simple your solution was and I really love the casing you used as well. Can you tell me the dimensions of the wood and the banding?

    • Hi Lora – no post is too old around here – this renovation never stops. When you say the drywall sticks out past the wood – are you saying the interior of the opening has an existing jamb that’s too short? If so, you’ll need to build up that interior portion of the jamb to be slightly proud (thicker) than the drywall. There are a couple of ways of doing this. The easiest is to add a lattice strip to the edge of the jamb and then attach the casing. This will fill the gap between the jamb and casing trim. You can stagger this piece back a little to make it look like an intentional detail.There are other ways that involve milling the casing with a lip to cover the gap. The door casing in these photos is a little wider than the window casing – 4 1/4″ wide X 3/4 stock. The windows are 3 1/4″. The back banding is made from the same 3/4″ stock width with the thickness (from drywall to top of band about 1 3/8″. I scribe the pieces to the wall, so there is no gaps between drywall and wood to be caulked, but most just use a little caulk for this joint.

Leave a Reply

