Living Room #1 Floors and Fireplace

We left off with hopping from the 2nd floor master bath to the 1st floor living room. After moving a room full of clutter and exterior insulation panels, we’re ready to tackle some new projects.

1a Old roomSo here’s the basic layout. Originally a painted brick fireplace with original cabinets on the side. Looks good, but lots of problems with windows, sloped floors and a drafty open fireplace.

1 floor shim startSo we cleaned it up, ran vents for a direct vent fireplace. Cement board was attached to the brick with modified thinset and tapcons. The walls were drywalled and new windows added on either side of the fireplace.These are insulated units that don’t open, as stained glass windows go here to block the scenic view of the brick wall.

2 floor shimThis area of the floor had a 3/4″ slope for some reason. The floor in general is flat and pretty level. The house being 80 years old this year, I guess a little droopiness is to be expected. So to fix this I added shims before the new 1/2 CDX plywood underlayment was screwed down.

3 sheathing  The first sheet goes in and checked to make sure its level. The plywood is screwed through the original 3/4″ pine floor into the floor joists.

4 levelAnd it is flat and level.

5 floor viewThe flooring is added and shimmed slightly to keep the floor flat. It’s pretty level, but little dips and uneven areas could be shimmed when the finish floor goes in. I’ve made 2X6 bases for the new cabinets and set the doors on top to visualize what to do next.

6 cabinet pieceI kept a piece of the old cabinet frame to use as a guide for the new face frames. These cabinet doors are about the only old thing left in this place, so I want to duplicate the design.

7 face frame layoutEverything you need in life is right here. No time to eat, I have my Diet Coke and some crackers for lunch while I figure out these cabinet face frames.

8 face frame figuresI ran out of yellow pads, so plywood scrap will do. Each side of the fireplace is different, and each set of doors is slightly different as well – so it looks like I’ll need both sides of this plywood to do some cypher’n.

9 door mock upThe doors are not square – they actually flair out at the bottoms slightly. If you were hanging around on the same hinges for 80 years you might have a wider bottom too. We’ll square up the door later – right now we need to make sure the door frames are just a slight bit small to allow us to shave the doors down just a smidgen.

10 kreg jigEven though I have some pretty nice tools – I still use this bottom of the line Kreg screw kit. It still works great, even though you can get some fancy newer models.

11 face frame glue upOnce I glue and screw the frames, I usually clamp them down on a flat surface. Sometimes the screws make the frame joints ‘rock’ slightly and cup the frame at the joint. This seems to help.

12 face frame fittingThe face frames in for a trial fit. The rails closest to the fireplace is wider than the ones next to the walls. This is to compensate for the thickness of the fireplace mantle sides. (Which I have yet to design).

Stick around – we’ll have a nice fire going – around August I suspect.

 

5 thoughts on “Living Room #1 Floors and Fireplace

    • Hey Girl! Your place is looking really great! I have been working every day – but so much more to do. Tonight I’m working on the fireplace mantel design. I have no clue how it will turn out.

      • Yes it is all a work in progress on both sides. I gave it a break for a year only doing things here and there as I was in school but I am back on it. Your place is shaping up as well and is looking really good. Your skill set far exceeds mine but I am trying LOL. I wonder what happened to capecoddreams? I wanted to ask her a question about an artist she likes and found her blog has been removed. 😦 I thought we were all cyber friends lol

    • Hi D’Arcy! No, the doors are original. They were painted dozens of times, so I stripped them down to bare wood. All of the glass is original too. The face frames and cabinet boxes are new.

Leave a Reply

