Exterior Azek Trim #2

The winter winds are moving in and I’m not ready. But we will carry on, as I gotta get the siding up – hopefully this year. It would go quicker if I would quit making up fancy do-dads for the exterior trim.

For instance

1 fasciaI started by getting some fascia wrapped around the sunroom. When the roof was put on I used a spacer to make sure I could get the Azek trim under the gutter apron. That’s a nice, normal trim detail.

2 old house eave repairNow it gets more difficult. There are discussions all over the web about ‘pork chop’ or ‘mutton chop’ eave returns. That’s the blocked out ends of the eaves that almost every new home has, but most don’t like. This house had them originally – but then this was a low budget house when built.

3eave electricalSo my solution is to make a semi-recessed return.  I’ve never seen it done, but why would that stop me? These are on the old part of the house. The roof overhang is 16″,  which made these guys pretty big. I made them like cabinet panels using 3/4 trim stock for the frames and 1/2″ sheet stock for the insert.

4 eave boxI used super blue remodel boxes in a couple of locations. 110v power to the left and a cat5e cable to the right with an approved electrical divider in between. Just in case I want to add a Pan,Tilt & Zoom security camera later. Just planning ahead.

5 eave box finishedA weather proof cover keeps everything dry. The original fascia boards are in really good shape, being covered with aluminum for many decades. We’ll scrape them and use them as the backing for the new Azek 1X10 trim stock.

6 down lightsI used these fixtures for the down lights. They are available on Amazon – a pair costs less than 20.00. I used these because of the small junction boxes on top. They come with a 50w halogen bulb which I replaced with a 6.2w LED to reduce the heat. I used 10 of them and it lights up the whole perimeter of the house – using only 62 watts.

7 sunroom eavesThe sunroom side has eaves at about 11″, so they are a little smaller. Here you can see how I integrated the light box panel to the hidden vent soffit detail.

8 sunroom eave boxHere’s the back of that same box. You can see the recess back from the fascia – so this will take a little fancy cut work to trim out.

9 table sawThat’s why we drag out the 10″ table saw with a built in Triton router. We’ve got some fancy cuttin’ to do…

10 trim piecesDang, that’s the trim pieces that go around each of those light box/eave return things. Looks like the Azek dust will be flying – glad I’m doing this outside.

Stay tuned …

4 thoughts on “Exterior Azek Trim #2

    • Thanks so much! I’m trying to get the siding on – but running out of time. I hope Virginia is starting to seem like home. I hope we can add some teak furniture in our home – if I get to decorate.

  1. Finding your site was serendipitous 🙂 I’m trying my best to incorporate American ingenuity on our building project, but its not always easy. Thank you for putting your project on the wire I’ve read every post. And in closing, three words about your ladder accident last year; a damn shame.

    • You have such an interesting project! That’s a lot of posts to read. I try to put the process on line – it can be pretty tedious, unless you’re in the middle of a similar project. I’ll be watching how your renovation unfolds.

Leave a Reply

