Ceiling Challenge

Everyday I feel I’m getting a little stronger. Being in a wheelchair for 5 months last year certainly had taken it’s toll. Weak muscles, poor balance and a skill set that is very, very slow. I am thankful I get another chance to continue this project – I know how lucky I am.

But now it’s time for some exercise – so come along, put on your sweatbands and let’s do some weight  plywood lifting!

starter hole

First let’s get the final pieces of drywall up by the ceiling juncture. Usually I’ll measure to the center of the outlet box and use a hole saw to cut a starter hole.

routed boxThen use a rotozip to cut around the box.

plywood stackFirst exercise assignment is to get all the plywood sheets out of the way – here I’ve moved them for the 3rd time. Plan ahead Curt, plan ahead.

plywood ladderHere’s the second exercise. Take this 4X8 sheet of half inch plywood and nail it to the ceiling. OK my invisible friends – you hold it up and I’ll… Well, seems they took a lunch break. So to do this by myself you balance the sheet on a ladder.

first rowHold it up and shoot it with the nail gun. It’s easier than you think, the hard part is lining them up using one hand. You will have a much easier time if you have three arms. Or somebody around to help you. You can see that I foil taped the seams of the foam board and used spray foam at the ridge and around electrical boxes to minimize air infiltration.

plywood piecesOnce the first row is up you can use smaller pieces. This is just a nailing layer of plywood – the wood ceiling will be nailed over this.

finished plywoodThe plywood is up! I used a layer of plywood for a couple of reasons. This goes over a foam board surface and I didn’t want to contend with possible crushing of the foam when I nail up the finish boards. I also wanted to have staggered joints and didn’t want to have to hit roof joists for every joint – this way I can nail the finish ceiling anywhere.

drywall mudThen finish hanging the drywall –  tape and mud the joints…

drywall sandedSand it smooth and move on to the fun stuff.

saw for box beamsSo we drag out the 12″ compound saw and a pile of lumber and it’s time to get busy!

*Note* I do have friends and family that offer to help me – and it would be much easier (and probably safer) to have some help with holding up plywood sheets for example. But this is the challenge for me – to do as much as I can by myself. But boy, I was really, really sore a couple of days after this one.

Hang in there – we’ll get to some pretty stuff one day.

 

10 thoughts on “Ceiling Challenge

  1. “Weak muscles, poor balance and a skill set that is very, very slow”…I’m like that most days, and that’s without having been in a wheelchair for 5 months! Great job!

    • Thanks old friend – I’m so thankful to get back to this mess. Us veteran (read old) renovators may be slow but we are consistent. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. It’s looking good! I love that hexagonal window set up high and find all the drywalling very interesting as all our houses are built of brick.

    • Hi! Yes, you South Africans don’t use such stuff as drywall – the humidity will make a mess of this stuff. I enjoy your writing…a very well done blog.

  3. Charlie is ready to start drywalling our sunroom (which we call the conservatory) which is not as grand as yours. I’m going to show him this post as encouragement. Thanks. Jo @ Let’s Face the Music

    • Hi Jo! Your place is looking amazing. I hope I get to finish my renovation in my lifetime. I’m a pretty good drywaller. The pros would probably use larger drywall sheets – but 4X8 is the largest I can handle by myself.

Leave a Reply

