Nance Galleries History Part 4

Here is the final history overview of our Gallery. I’ll be posting the details of the new gallery renovation here. After all, this is a renovation blog,

nance galleries

I last left off at a critical time. September 1989 and the city had put a stop order on the building -and rightly so, I might add. My genius contractor didn’t bother with permits and zoning laws. Boy, what a pickle he put me in. So what’s next? I ask the guy in charge of the building commission. You have to have a hearing in front of the board. Great, I said when should I be there? December 21. silence…You mean I have to wait until December 21? What about my holiday shopping season? I need to get the gallery open. silence… Not gonna happen. So to say that 1989 was going to be a bleak year would be an understatement.

I give you exhibit A

12-21-1989-Zoning-Hearing--

And exhibit B

12-21-1989-Zoning-Hearing

These were the exhibit photos for the hearing. And fortunately for us the vote was 6-1 in our favor. Yeah!…

View original post 441 more words

Leave a Reply

