What’s Happening Now – but not by me

Well, I’ve read nearly every renovation blog on WordPress – so a lot of you will see my bright blue gravatar liking your posts – and I really do like them. I’m still fumbling around the house – mostly in a wheelchair, but I have been able to stand up – wobbly, but at least standing. So no fiddling for me – yet.

But I did get to go by the old “Hobby House” and get the following photos to at least show I’m still renovating- even if I’m not the one doing the work.

brick-startHere is the start of the patio. It’s a traditional herringbone pattern lined with a soldier course lining. I put down a 4″ concrete base – why? Because I’m anal about stuff like this – if a weed makes it through this I’ll give up.

patio-detailHere’s the same after the mortar is added. It will be acid washed a few times and then sealed to make it pretty.

patio-stepsThese are the Indiana limestone steps leading from the sunroom. They’re 7′ long and 14″ wide 2 1/2 thick and are crazy heavy.

patioHere is the overview of the patio in relation to the added mudroom and sunroom. The black stuff on the mudroom is a rainscreen. This is where I fell off the ladder – right above that little octagonal window. The rainscreen is used behind the limestone thin veneer that covers this addition.

front-doorThe front porch is also done with the herringbone pattern – with 12″ limestone coping as a border and 5′ limestone steps.

front-straightThe new sidewalk to the front door will also have the herringbone pattern like the patio. We kept the same style of winding sidewalk like the original, only our concrete / mason Shawn Thomas added a little flair at the front. The black is also the rainscreen because the front entrance is clad in natural Indiana limestone as well.

sidewalkEven though the sidewalks are technically the city’s responsibility – I went ahead and replaced the cracked and buckled mess with new ones.

front-looking-leftOne day I’ll get this thing to a point I can start on the pretty stuff – one day…

Stay safe

33 thoughts on “What’s Happening Now – but not by me

  1. The brick really does look lovely. I get a knot in my stomach thinking about your fall but I’m really glad to see it hasn’t stopped you from wanting to work on your project house. πŸ™‚ I also really like the curve to your front entry walkway, I can just imagine it surrounded someday by a little french country garden with lilacs and hydrangea.

    I’m impressed but not at all surprised to hear that you’ve read every renovation blog! πŸ˜€ Heck, you managed to find mine within a day or two of me starting it, which was impressive. Any recommendations for particularly good/enjoyable/informative ones? I’m always looking for new blogs to add to my Feedly. πŸ™‚

    • Hi Melinda –
      Yep, they’ll be some hydrangeas for sure – plus other stuff. I have to find a place for a Gingko tree somewhere – I had some stained glass windows made in a 1930’s Gingko motif. I only read the really good blogs – and you know I read yours :). There’s so many good blogs – I need to update my blogroll. Check out my Carlo Mollino link – he is one of my all time favorites. I can see one of his desks in your place.

    • Hi Kaesey – I’m wondering how it’s all going to turn out too. I plan as I go – so we’ll see. But if it’s really bad – you guys won’t see it πŸ™‚

  2. Love the brick walkways! The herringbone pattern is my favorite and the plan for our walkway as well. (Plus it’ll match the brick herringbone mudroom floors.) I’m showing to our LA!!

    • You know I love your mudroom floors – you have that nice antique brick! I know this will age in time, I put in the same herringbone pattern at my current house years ago and I still like it.

  3. Love it! I’m sharing your pics with our LA. This is exactly what I want for our front walkway. (Plus it matches our brick herringbone mudroom floors!)

    • This is the only thing I don’t have to sweat over – I kinda like this armchair (or wheelchair) renovation. I could get used to this – pass the iced tea please. πŸ™‚

    • Hi Julia – Love your blog! I always wanted to have a farm – and worked every summer during school. Hard work, but the best memories. The patio is placed on a standard 4″ poured concrete pad over compacted gravel. The brick is set in N or S mortar – look here:
      http://www.cement.org/masonry/cc_mortar_types.asp
      Over the cured concrete they lay down a couple of pieces of rebar and put down a mortar bed – the rebar keeps a uniform thickness. They pull out the rebar and set the brick in the mortar. Once cured (over night), You take a mortar bag (like a big icing squeeze bag) and fill all the joints. Tool it in, wire brush and acid wash – that’s it.

    • Hi Lauren – Thanks so much! I thought I might go ahead and fix the sidewalk – it looks way better and makes it safe for everyone. The city would have never fixed it – well, not in my lifetime. πŸ™‚

  4. I figured I’d see what new things you were up to…plus, you always make a pit stop by my page to show the love…why not return the favor, right?? I really love the herringbone patterned sidewalk/pathways. I’m not always able to get on here, so pardon my asking…but, is this a house you are just working on, or is it your house?

    • Hi Darlin’, oh I mean DarLynn πŸ™‚ Yes, you always have something interesting over at your place. My wife calls this a ‘hobby house’ because after four years we’re still not moved in yet. But yes, it’s our house – I just hope to move in before the decade is out. πŸ™‚ Keep up the great work!

      • LOL! You are probably one the only people to get that reference on my name πŸ™‚
        Well, hobby house or not…I’m sure it will be fabulous once completed! If you steal…I mean borrow any ideas from my designs, I want to see pictures πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for the kind words Candice – well, it remains to be seen how this whole mess comes together. Time will tell. Thanks for stopping by.

    • Since we are in Indiana, I thought it was best to use a native material. Actually, the real stone for the steps and the walls was less expensive than concrete replicas. It just took a two hour drive to retrieve them. Thanks for stopping in.

  5. The walkway looks great! I know renovations can be frustrating and always take more time than we plan. And when we can’t do the work ourselves it can make us down right crazy! But it will all be worth it in the end (except your fall :). Keep at it!

    • Thanks for the encouragement Suzanne. I just have to add another year to the timeline. But after 4 years, what’s another one? Thanks again for stopping in.

Leave a Reply

