Bungalow Replacement Windows – Installation Details Part 2

So after my refreshing nap – we’re ready to continue…where were we?

Oh – window installation. We need a permit – and we need a plan. Remember, this was at the very start of my misadventure. I knew nothing of permits or where to get one – I just knew we needed one. So off to the Civic Center to the Building Commission. No real problems here. Just tell them what you’re going to do and pay the fee – then tape the blue notice in the front window – done.

Now the plan.

Window-DetailI didn’t know how detailed I needed to be with the inspectors or powers that be. So I drew up my little diagram and sent it off to the structural inspector. He said – fine – whatever. I later found out from a builder that diagrams are deemed an annoyance. Live and learn.

Rough window framingHere is the plan on installing windows in the existing structure – as per my nifty diagram above. I used pressure treated wood (not really needed, by the way) around the existing opening making the sides plumb and the top and bottom level. This will make installation of the new window easy – as the bottom sill will rest on a flat and level surface. I widened each window as much as possible – opting to use the weight pocket gaps to make the windows wider. It added about 4″ in width. Since these were custom windows, each took about a month to get. I didn’t order them until I had the rough-in complete, so Masonite was put in place to cover the holes. Actually I didn’t measure them –  I let the window wholesaler come out and measure – if one didn’t fit – I had a scapegoat.

sill guardI’m jumping from old construction to new – because I don’t have any pictures of the early part of the window install. But you can see the sill guard going into place here. The bottom corners go over the waterproofing, then the middle sections (laying on floor) overlap the corner pieces.

Sill guard installHere’s an installed view. The black polypropylene guard makes a waterproof sill pan under the window. It has a built in slope and channels to allow water to escape to the outside instead of pooling and rotting out the sill. The black sill guard goes up the side of the window about 4″. Here is is covered with the waterproofing wrap.

Window rough waterproofingThe exterior of the window rough in after waterproofing wrap is installed. Really, nobody goes to this extreme – but it shouldn’t leak when I’m done.

window installedHere is a close up detail of the living room window. You can see all of the elements in my little annoying drawing here. These windows don’t open and have no grills because they face directly into the neighbor’s windows. I have stained glass windows that go over these.

Nailing-Finmetal strapThe windows are held in place by three methods. Top is the nailing fin that is fastened to the outside framing – two is the metal straps that are attached to the bottom of the windows. These bridge over the sill guard and mount to the sill wood – eliminating holes in the fancy sill pan we just put in. The third is the screws that attach through the window with shims into the side and top framing members.

living room windowYou can see the straps installed on the living room window.

exterior window flashingHere is how the window flashing goes on after the window is installed. Well – this is incorrect. That piece along the bottom needs to come off – if you seal the bottom there’s no place for the water to go. The left side is on and then the right side goes on – then the top piece goes on last. So, as a recap – window nailed in – side pieces of flashing, then top piece – no flashing on the bottom.

Well, time for a Doctor’s appointment.

See you soon.

5 thoughts on “Bungalow Replacement Windows – Installation Details Part 2

  1. I’m so glad you stopped by my blog. Don’t know if you made it all the way through my old posts, but I picked up two Marvin Ultimates on Craigslist (and I battled the New Jersey Turnpike at rush hour to get them), which I’ll be installing myself, and may get more. Glad to see such detailed info about installing them; that’s coming up soon for me. And I was going to assure you that you seem extremely sane, but I think we may actually just both be the same kind of crazy. Well stay in touch. I think everything you’re doing to your house makes incredible amounts of sense.

    • Hey Chad! Just finished reading your blog – start to finish. I think we are on parallel paths. My old plaster lathe beauty was built in 1935. And it’s pretty much a gut job too…well, plus a couple of new rooms. I’ll be following along.

  2. Hmm, you used so much more Protectowrap than I did. My neighbor, a carpenter, said I only needed it on the outside, and I ended up wrapping it a little more than halfway across the studs on the sides and tops, but all the way across the sills. But then, I’ve stripped the wall bare and will be flashing the trim and putting tar paper over the flashing before I side the house. Where did you get the polypropylene sills?

    And for the record, I will be installing my windows slightly proud of the opening, flashing the trim around them, putting tar paper over the flashing up to the fascia, installing a deeper than normal PVC “historic sill” to protect the siding below the window, and installing the siding on a rainscreen. I’m hoping that this means I’ve put enough gurads against rainwater intrusion but I guess you never know.

Leave a Reply

