Steep Bungalow Stairs part 2 or Homage to Victora Elizabeth Barnes’ Kitchen Chimney

Sometimes you know you travel in a parallel universe.

As I toil alone on this renovation, I often think that I am the singular soul on this planet that must bear this remodeling burden. But no, as I read through some of my favorite blogs I see that others are (self) inflicted with the same challenges. And it brings comfort – not a lot but some….

If you have some time, please peruse this recent post by Victoria Elizabeth Barnes.

Now where were we?

Stair HeaderThe steel angle header is wrapped with drywall. You can see the header rests on the stair side walls that are load bearing to support the floor joists.

Stair with handrailI found a better picture of how the original stair was configured with the handrail being blocked by the door opening. This, by the way is not legal – code wise.

Now we’ll take a detour of sorts. This is the Homage to Victoria.

Let’s demo a chimney

Kitchen chimneyHere is the obstacle on the other side of the stair we’ll be ripping out. Now is a good time to get this 2′ X 2′ dude out of our future kitchen.

Chimney demo startSo here I’ve started the demo upstairs. Removal is pretty easy – one brick at a time. The square tile thing in the middle is the flue tile. These dogs are pretty heavy. This is a 28′ run of chimney, so I gotta get my ‘A’ game goin’ here.

upstairs demo finishedSecond floor chimney gone! You can see the 45 degree angle staircase in the background. We’ll fix that puppy – you’ll see. And just a glimpse of the 450 pound cast iron Bateau bathtub is sitting there waiting to be placed in the master bath.

Kitchen chimney demoNow down to the first floor kitchen side. Of course before we got to this point, I had finished this with nice new smooth drywall. Oh, the pangs of ‘freestyle’ home renovation.

chimney wallpaperI did find remnants of some original wall paper. I’ve found a few fragments around the house. I must say they were pretty bright and very stylized in 1935.

kitchen chimney demo finished I wish I had all those nifty buckets that Victoria had at her disposal. When she said it was an awesome experience – she was so right! If you have an unused chimney laying around – go take a whack at it – you too will be amazed.

Do you notice that little mini-sledge on the pile of old mortar? That’s all you need to bring one of these guys down. That and a lot of 5 gallon buckets.

Basement chimney demo startSo now down to the basement.

Basement chimney demo finishedAnd now it’s all gone!

Kitchen chimney removedNow with the chimney removed, we can redesign the kitchen for the third time.

The removal took about 22 hours over four days working alone. Not as bad as I though.

Chimney brick stackedBut that included cleaning the remaining brick and stacking them behind the garage for a future project. What is wrong with me?
Next year I’ll be 60.

Man, I gotta start drinking non-caffeinated diet coke.

Next post will have the beginning of the staircase redesign.

10 thoughts on “Steep Bungalow Stairs part 2 or Homage to Victora Elizabeth Barnes’ Kitchen Chimney

  1. I think my favorite part was seeing them all stacked up. Because? OF COURSE you cleaned them! THAT’S what you do with brick you rip out of your house…

    I feel right at home here. But I’d be more comfortable if you could yell at me occasionally: GO! FASTER! KEEP UP! You’re too calm in your explanation, and it lulls me into thinking it WASN’T that bad. When, I’m fully aware of just how bad it was.

    We found some interesting stuff in ours. Old paper mostly… makes you wonder how paper stays intact in a chimney of all places. We found an order form for lumber and one for nails. Kind of neat. And old candy wrappers… But, sadly no money which is what we were really hoping for.

    • VE – I thought you would spot the cleaned and stacked bricks. What would one do with all the spare time if bricks didn’t need to be cleaned. and of course when stacking they must be placed in an alternate interlace pattern. I found nothing in my chimney – well, except for the last 2 feet that was nothing but ash and filth. Love this reno!

  2. Love your blog!! You are crazy, no doubt about it, but I love seeing the progress little by little. The peek of that beautiful bath was a bit sneaky!!! Can’t wait to see the bathroom with that beauty in it!!!

    • Thanks for the reaffirmation – I’ll might need you as a character witness if I go on disability. The bathtub has sat in the same spot for two years now. I hope it’ll hold water by the time I get it in.

  3. Love seeing your progress. I have been through a chimney removal myself (well my husband and Dad) but ours was super easy. Like so easy it was scary. Someone could have bumped into it and knocked it down! Keep up the good work 🙂

    Can’t wait to see the stairs!

    • Brittney – you are so far ahead of me – I’ll never catch up. Your place is looking fantastic and I long for the day that I have primer on the walls – wait I long for the day I have drywall on the walls!

  4. Pingback: Master Bath Reno #4 | Adventures in Remodeling

Leave a Reply

