New Basement Floor

So where were we –  oh it’s time to add a little more concrete to the house – can’t have enough concrete I say.

After doing a lot of research of various floor solutions I decided a new concrete overlay would work the best – mainly because of the steep slope and poor condition of the  concrete. If the original floor was flatter and in better shape, I probably would have used a system like DRIcore.

Now the concrete overlay should be at a minimum of 4″ thick – It’s also important to formulate the concrete so that it minimizes shrinkage and maximizes strength. The pour will be up to 7″ in some areas. Here is the corner with the full bath rough in. This will be covered up until it’s needed – if ever. Then you just break up the concrete and set your fixtures. The blue line is the target thickness. The trench is for the air conditioner condensate line drain.

You do remember this is all a freestyle design exercise, don’t you? – you are about to witness another one of my efforts that will come back to be a waste of time and money. Here you see the forms around the HVAC units. I thought I would leave the HVAC here, perfectly good units – high efficiency. Oh, well – we’ll get to that in another post.

Looking back you can see the stairs have been removed and a handy ladder takes it’s place. You can also see the steel support beam that has been installed with a proper 2′ footing underneath. This is the right location for supporting the upstairs bath. The wood post to the left holding up the stairs will be removed and a short wall will take it’s place at a later date.

The floor has a severe slope to the drain – the new floor will fix this. Also, there are forms around the water well so that a new pump will clear under the stairs.

So all we need is a cement truck and a pumper…

Let there be floor!

Nice and flat – this gives me almost 1000 sq. feet of living and work space down here in the two rooms.

And around the air conditioning unit. Even with the added floor thickness I have a ceiling height of 7′ 2″ – so I can live with that.

And the stair area. You can see the sump pump as well as the waste pump well locations. Also the water well is here as well. Gee, I noticed a lot of ‘wells’ in this last note.

Well, now we have a nice flat floor. We won’t be doing much down here for awhile – I hear a couple other rooms calling me for attention. But we’ll be back to change some things – as you know freestyle design is exhilarating as well as frustrating – and ding-dang expensive. The thing is, I have no one to blame but myself.

Next up well, tackle that new back entrance.

8 thoughts on “New Basement Floor

  1. Freestyle is the only way to do it!! You did a good job, planned or not. I would have been scared to death to tackle this one but you did well. DId you do it all by yourself? Did you rough up the floor or did you leave it smooth? cement can be awfully slippery when wet. Does your basement get wet? OMG all the questions huh?

    • Yep freestyle! – but you’ll see that I decided to move the HVAC unit later. I prepped the floors, but let the concrete guy finish it. It was actually cheaper than using the DRIcore product. The floor was scraped and a special bonding material was used before the pour. My basement was waterproofed first with the B-Dry system, but I had just slight water seepage before – none now. Ask away – like you do on your projects, I did a ton of research before I did this one.

  2. That ladder in place of stairs cracks me up! We really want to refinish our basement but I have a feeling that’s a LONG way off…just clearing the cobwebs is going to take a whole crew (heaven knows I’m not up for it…)

    FYI: I like the term “freestyle design” 🙂

    • Yep, the basements in most old homes is pretty creepy. This one was so bad you could smell the cat pee – but a week of scrubbing and 4″ of new concrete seems to have done the trick. Now it smells like new concrete!

Leave a Reply

