A Driveway Project

OK – so I’m still trying to figure out how to tell the story of this renovation in some type of coherent form. You see, I’m not a one room renovator kinda guy. No, as I write this every room is under some kind of renovation. There is no kitchen, the master bath is ready for drywall. The air conditioning for the 1st floor is ripped out. The living room fireplace is prepped for tile and wood mantle and so on & on…

So the projects run together and it’s confusing enough for me to tell this story – I can’t imagine conveying this to you in a orderly fashion. The fact is I’m just beginning this blog in earnest, yet I have been at the renovation for three years. So with the recent discovery of  ‘categories’ on this blog – if I get confusing, just punch the respective topic and it might make a little more sense.

Now, with that disclaimer out of the way – let’s move a driveway!So here’s what we’re left with after the broken driveway is removed. You can see I’m working on windows for the upstairs master-bath at the same time this is going on. The three lower windows in the kitchen area are already in.

So we start here.

I kept part of the existing driveway. I plan to use the two left hand bays of the garage to park our cars eventually. The patch of dirt close to the garage door was originally a grove of bamboo! Yikes! This stuff was growing out of control and was taking over the yard. I have no pictures of this, but it was a 3 year battle to get rid of it. Be very careful when planting bamboo in the ground! Safer with some type of container. This was an epic battle that took a lot of effort to prevail over the bamboo gods. I still look around the yard, fearing another shoot will pop up.

OK, so I didn’t do the concrete work – I really wanted to do this, but my wife wouldn’t let me spring for that nifty little tractor. The contractor will be busy, I’ll find other projects for this dude. He will be happy.

Keeping an eye on the crew to make sure it ends up in the right place. Looks like I placed the drive smack-dab in the middle of that little tree – oh, Lord – I’ll never get to tree heaven this way.

Nothing better than playing in the dirt on a summer day – so idyllic.

I designed this for a turnaround. This way I don’t have to back out on to the street.

So the little tree is no more – It looks like the concrete guy is having a moment of silence for another tree that bites the dust. Actually I had an arborist out to look at that little tree to see if it could be moved. It also had some kind of blight – I’m not having much tree – luck.

So in goes a 12′ wide driveway.

We’ll throw down a little seed and wait for the next project to come along.

And I think I just found my next victim!

Can you say mudroom? But first we have some more concrete work to do – downstairs.

Party’s in the basement and you’re invited!

8 thoughts on “A Driveway Project

  1. Yup I know the feeling of having the whole freaking house tore apart. I think any visitors come to my place now they will think I am a hoarding pig because I have construction crap all over the porch and the house. crazzzzy. everyone say girl do one project at a time and dont start another till you get one finished but I just can’t help myself. its the snowball effect and A.D.D. combined.

    • Correct! You and I are two of a kind. In some ways it’s more efficient, as I wait for a part for one room I can be working on another. I finished the 1st floor bathroom just to show my wife, yes – I can finish what I start. The thing about a large renovation is that most rooms are affected – so if you put on the final finishes and make it all pretty you may be tearing it all out to replace an electrical line.

  2. Oh I’d be heartbroken to lose so many trees in such a short time! But you can always plant more. River Birches are my current favorite — I think one would look great in your front yard and they grow quickly so you’ll see results soon.

    • Yep – I wonder what the neighbors think! Thanks for the tip on the tree. After the next room is built I’ll get to start some tree planting. I know I will have to have one ginkgo tree (male). I have some stained glass windows going in that have a ginkgo leaf motif.

      • No kidding! We have a ginko motif happening on Lydia Street as well and are planning to replace our holly tree with a ginko (male).

      • Great minds think alike! I had two stained glass windows made in a ginkgo leaf motif that goes on each side of the living room fireplace. The octagonal windows in the new rooms will also get a ginkgo leaf design. I think those trees are groovy!

  3. My husband has tried to explain to me how you CANNOT just work on one project, or nothing will get done. I think it took me over three years to finally understand the why/how of a project’s scope, and how, it’s true—you cannot do just one thing, or it will be 15 years until you’re done.

Leave a Reply

